This little piggy went to…

This little piggy went to…
Peter Pan’s Playground. It was the hottest day of the year so I popped the girlies in their swimsuits and off we went. (We all know it was far more hassle than that, but let’s pretend for the sake of the story…) They crawled around, constantly removed their hats and even (surprisingly) enjoyed being sprayed by the water jets. A wonderful time was had by all. The end. Ha! They are toddlers, of course that wasn’t the end…


This little piggy made it home….
We got home. I took them out of their car seats and put them straight into their highchairs for lunch. Made the decision to keep them in their swimsuits as A) it was so hot B) it was too much hassle to change them C) they will only spill their lunch down them anyway.

My ones are the disobedient, hat-less ones. Obvs.

My ones are the disobedient, hat-less ones. Obvs.

This little piggy had roast beef…
Actually, they had an Ella’s Kitchen Paella because I forgot to defrost anything. I ‘made’ their lunch and then gave them their milk. Girlie Two won’t hold her own milk bottle unless she is tilted at a 90 degree angle, therefore I cuddle her. It’s nice that we still get to snuggle up even though she’s getting bigger…oh wait…what’s that? What is that warm feeling on my tummy? Hold on, not the warm and fuzzy feeling from holding a little toddler who you love, more of a warm and soggy feeling. I would go as far as to say (with a bit of a cringe) ‘MOIST’. S**t! She’s peeing on me. She’s actually peeing on me. Eww. Stupid nappy fail. I am covered in wee. Great. Take Girlie Two upstairs, take her swimsuit off, change her nappy, put her in summer sleeping bag for her nap. Remember that she removed her sleeping bag and nappy this morning so she had peed on her cot sheet. Changed cot sheet. Changed sleeping bag. One child ready for nap. \o/

'Any final last words?' 'Yes....moist'. (Family Guy via boxoffice.com)

‘Any final last words?’ ‘Yes….MOIST’.      (Family Guy via boxoffice.com)

This little piggy had none…
Me. I had none. Except for a few handfuls of crisps stuffed into my face.
And this little piggy went wee, wee, wee….
Girlie One is now loudly crying from her highchair having been ABANDONED and assuming that I had left her forever in favour of her younger twin. I return to Girlie One minus my wee dress. Am now standing in the kitchen with blinds open wearing only my knickers. Pick up Girlie One to get ready for her nap. Carry her upstairs and get a newly familiar feeling on my left hip. More wee. She’s peeing down my leg as I walk up the stairs. Nice. Clean her up, change her nappy, think about one of the times that my step mum changed a nappy. “Luuuuuuu! Where’s the nappy cream?” “It’s next to the nappies in a white tube that says ‘nappy cream.’“ “Oh, I’ve found it. I dismissed it at first because I thought it said ‘HAPPY cream.” (Huh?!?) I could definitely do with some happy cream now. Instead I make do with leaving the two of them to nap, taking a shower and then eating the rest of the crisps.
No doubt you’re already ahead of me. It still took me a while to figure it out. My thought process went like this: ‘Can’t believe I’ve been peed on TWICE today. My life sucks. Bet my husband doesn’t get this at his work. (Lets hope not anyway.) Shall I have another packet of crisps? Can’t believe the first swimsuits I bought them were £14 EACH and these were only £7 for two. The expensive swimsuits did have built in swim nappies though. Wonder what the difference is between normal nappies and swim nappies?…….OH. (BOOM! There it is. That’s when I realised it.) They were both wearing swim nappies today. Swimming nappies are designed to let the wee flow straight though. I imagine it’s a mistake that I will only make once. The beauty of twins, right? TWO for the price of ONE. Or, in this case, two NUMBER ones.

Friday Frolics
Best of Worst
10 comments

  1. Michaela · August 13, 2015

    once again, thank you for my morning amusement and I also hope your husband doesn’t get it at work either, however that thought makes me giggle; hmmm maybe it could be an idea how to get the staff to behave themselves

    Like

  2. TwinMumAmongstOtherThings · August 14, 2015

    I think everyone hopes that their partner DOESN’T get peed on at work! 😀

    Like

  3. Lifeloveanddirtydishes · August 15, 2015

    I totally made that mistake with swim nappies. We were on holiday and were going for a bit of lunch before heading to the pool. Smugly I got the baby already for the pool before lunch. Needless to say he was soaked before making it anywhere near the water! Thanks for linking up to #FridayFrolics

    Like

  4. TwinMumAmongstOtherThings · August 15, 2015

    Oh no. Poor you! It seems that lots of people make that mistake the hard way…and I’ve found some Mummy’s who didn’t realise swim nappies let the wee through. When I die I hope to be remembered as the person who saved a few Mummy’s from being peed on!

    Like

  5. Mama · August 19, 2015

    Hang on- what?! Swim nappies let pee through?! Well then what’s the flipping point? Extra glad it’s my wife that takes the baby to baby swimming lessons. That’s a lot off pee.

    #bestandworst

    Liked by 1 person

  6. thehollyhockdoor · August 19, 2015

    So funny! I’m sure it wasn’t funny at the time though! I didn’t realize that swim nappies let water through, but I suppose that makes sense. I did take my kids to the spray park with regular nappies and they both got balloon bums so they do have their uses, just not for sitting around in obvs.!! Thanks for sharing on #bestandworst

    Liked by 1 person

  7. TwinMumAmongstOtherThings · August 20, 2015

    Mama – they let the wee through. Crazy isn’t it! But designing a nappy that contains wee but repels swimming pool water would probably be quite tricky I s’pose!

    Like

  8. TwinMumAmongstOtherThings · August 20, 2015

    TheHollyhockdoor – I’m not going to lie, it wasn’t very pleasant! My parents did the thing with normal nappies and a paddling pool so I’ve heard how big they get. ‘Balloon Bums!’ 😀

    Like

  9. helen gandy · August 21, 2015

    Haha, oops, I have also made the mistake of leaving a swim nappy on a child and finding out the hard way that they are in fact not waterproof at all haha. Thanks for linking up to the #bestandworst 🙂 hope you’ll pop along again!

    Like

  10. TwinMumAmongstOtherThings · August 24, 2015

    I feel a lot better now I realise that so many other people have done the same thing! Thanks Helen. 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

